My Training Experience

3

January 31, 2013 by jocillecoronica

In the past couple of days, from January 28th to 30th, I have been  assisting trainers from SHEEP-Computer Literacy Program as a part of my duty as an on-the-job trainee. The modules that were tackled in the training were Newsletter Layouting using MS Publisher, Digital Caricature using Adobe Illustrator, and lastly Web and Video Blogging with WordPress. Each day had different sets of elementary pupils from different elementary schools of General Santos City. That’s 30 pupils per day, 10 for MS Publisher, 10 for Adobe Illustrator, and so on. And it’s 90 pupils for three days! (Would you believe that!). The said pupils were scheduled to have their whole day training at the SHEEP-CLP’s office.

DSCN2577

The trainings mentioned above were also part of the level-up trainings conducted for free sponsored by the Local Government Unit of General Santos City. Computer lessons were conducted for the public elementary and high school students to be at par with those in the private ones in terms of information technology education. Having a literacy program such as this is an advantage because it helps people in the locality gain more knowledge about the latest industry standard software, thus making them more globally competitive.

DSCN2495

Helping the pupils learn what they intended to is quite fulfilling. I have been able to help them how to do this and that especially in newsletter layouting. I also shared with them some techniques. Though there were those who do not know how to use computers at all, I really tried my best to explain to them what to do in a simplest manner I could. I also tried my best to be patient in handling different facets of personality. (Let me share with you one thing. When I was little, during my elementary days, I always dreamed of becoming a teacher someday, but I decided not to pursue it when I was in High School because I really get irritated off easily and I dislike kids during that time, but my outlook changed when I had a son myself.). I also facilitated a training in newsletter layouting, so I felt I really am a teacher. Later in the afternoon, the kids had their speed typing contest and electronic quiz bee. I had also tried facilitating the e-quiz bee once and I lost my voice after reading the 24th question. At the end of each training day, I felt relieved and rewarded seeing their cute faces smiling at me while uttering the words of gratitude.

DSCN2504

To learn more about SHEEP-Computer Literacy Program, visit their official website here.

PS: I am really not good in writing articles or posts and my English is really bad, so please sorry for the inconvenience (LOL 😀 )!

3 thoughts on “My Training Experience

  1. I have been surfing online greater than three hours as of late, but I never discovered any fascinating article like yours. It is pretty value sufficient for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

